AltaVista Index Talk (Mike Burrows)

http://www.researchchannel.org/prog/displayevent.aspx?rID=2123

some notes:

  1. continuation design is good, avoid a lot of unused branchs.
  2. For some critical code piece, Choose instructions to dual-issue well, Fixed word structure allows prefetch, Avoid branch mispredictions.
  3. branch mispredications will suffer a lot of performance, but the question is that in x86 how to reduce the branch mispredication, I am very familiar with how to optimize the application in RISC, but not x86 micro-architecuture. Now I use the Vtune tools to get the performance results but don’t know how to reduce the branch mispredications. If you have some ideas, please tell me. thanks a lot.
  4. The interface for index stream readers(ISRs):  loc(),  next(), seek(X)
  5. constraint solve processing is very critical to index serve.
  6. Queries take about 100 cycles/query/MByte(AltaVista), 1.5G index size
  7. 30% inner loop, 15% constraint solver, 15% higher level seek code, 7% ranking code, 0.2% merging results, Miss ratios: 2% I-cache, 8% D-cache, 8% level-2 cache, 40% level-3 cache. It seems that the current ranking algorithm is more complex than the one in 2000.
2 Comments »

  1. beginners said

    I am interested in cash backs. I shop a lot so I want to get at least some of my money back. So I’ve found this very helpful site with credit card comparison

    crredit cards for peaple with bad credit

  2. How can I establish credit again if they don’t give me a chance. I used to have excellent credit until my husband ruined that because he never worked. I’m now divorced and would like to try to get my credit back. I also have unpaid medical bills. Please advise if

    0 offers discover card

    Ne72Ma9rod

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

